top of page

About Us


The Richard Allen Youth Council was founded in Memphis, Tennessee, during the 150th celebration of the African Methodist Episcopal Church. 

The Sesquicential Festival of Negro Methodism was celebrated by the African Methodist Episcopal Church, June 22-27, 1937. It marked 150 years of progress by the AME Church since Richard Allen and his followers withdrew from St. George M.E. Church in Philadelphia, PA, in 1787. It was the beginning of a movement for self-help, self-movement, and self-direction in the religious life of people of African descent in America.


This agency came from the vision of Dr. S. S. Morris, Sr., who committed to the idea of bringing existing youth organizations together in the format of a council. It was not the intent of the RAYC to replace any youth agency or organization. Each organization would keep its own identity.


The primary goal of the RAYC was to coordinate and unify the total program which the local church offered its youth.


The RAYAC today...

Richard Allen Young Adult Council (RAYAC) was born at the 45th Quadrennial Session of the AME Church, and is an outgrowth of the Richard Allen Youth Council (RAYC). The RAYAC no longer serves as an overseeing body of other youth organizations, it is now a group for young adults between the ages of 21-39. The goal of the RAYAC is to retain young adults to the Lord, the church, and to lead young adults to use their gifts and talents in the service of the Lord.

International Officers

President -Mr. J.D. Satterwhite, 6th
1st Vice President – Rev. Jasmine MD Jones, 2nd
2nd Vice President – Mr. Thembinkosi Kumalo, 19th
Recording Secretary – Ms. Vanessa Anderson, 5th
Corresponding Secretary – Mr. Sabata Mojaki, 15th
Treasurer – Rev. Carla Bouie 11th
Parliamentarian – Mr. Richard Crews, 5th
Chaplain – Rev. Tashara Void, 2nd
Editor – Rev. H. Matthew Seawright 9th
Historian – Rev. Shawin Reynolds, 16th


Standing Committees
* Program Planning – Ms. Janita Ferguson 6th
* Constitution & Bylaws – Mr. George Gordon, 6th
* Social Action – Rev. H Matthew Seawright, 9th
* Evangelism – Rev. LeSean Tarkington, 5th
* Budget & Finance – Mr. Michael Cousin Jr., 4th
* Evaluation – Rev. Thato Mere, 19th
* Public Relations – Ms. Moriah Akrong, 1st

This short report highlights the work of the Richard Allen Young Adult Council for 2016-2021

This short report highlights the work of the
Richard Allen Young Adult Council for 2016-2021.

Episcopal District RAYAC Presidents

1st - Vacant

2nd - Rev. Melech E.M Thomas

3rd - Ms. Erin Young 

4th - Mr . Michael Cousin Jr. (YAN)

5th - Rev. Raichera McCray

6th - Mr. Cornelius Pettway

7th - Ms. JoiMarie Terry-Hunter (YAM)

8th - Rev. Jiovonte Watkins 

9th - Vacant

10th - Mr. Deon Gordon

11th - Ms. Raven Gainous

12th - Rev. Jeremy Jones

13th - Mr. BiShaune Battle

14th - Mr. Peter Karr II

15th - Mr. Sabata Majoki

16th - Rev. Demar Dennis

17th - Rev. Katongo David Nyemna

18th - Rev. Letang Mobea

19th - Mr. Thembinkosi Kumalo

20th - Vacant

bottom of page